Our History

A Caribbean Brethren Assemblies Conference (CBAC) was held in St Kitts from July 13th to 17th, 2014, with participants from 12 Caribbean territories (including Bermuda and Guyana) and from the USA, UK and India. At a closing session, the participants agreed that similar CBAC’s should be held, one in 2017 and, thereafter, at four-yearly intervals.

To plan CBAC’s, and to take the lead in encouraging a range of continuing inter-territory activities which the St Kitts conference believed would strengthen the work for the Lord of the Brethren movement in the Caribbean, it was agreed that a Caribbean Brethren Assemblies Conference Committee (CBACC) should be formed. The committee comprises one representative from each of the English-speaking Caribbean territories where there are churches associated with the Brethren movement, one from the USA, and two co-opted members. The Caribbean territories represented are Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St. Croix, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Thomas, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago.

Five members of the committee constitute the executive. The chairman is Bro. Hadyn Marshall (St. Vincent and the Grenadines) and the secretary is Sis. Avenelle Warde (St Kitts and Nevis). The other members are Bro. Kenneth Millar (Barbados), Bro. Eddie Richardson(Bermuda), and Bro. Glenville O’Flaherty (St. Kitts and Nevis).